An Inner Part of Me

One weekend
was what I needed
to try and be something
I’m not, letting my
animal spirit
consume me.
At my core

I am feline but
identify more with the
domesticated variety, yet
I find comfort
knowing I’m kin to the
tigers of East Asia; yet
my natural habitat
is far from tropical.
Some features of mine
have been cast out of
the gene pool, apparently
sabered fangs,
blue fur with purple stripes,
blurred vision and an
enlarged heart filled with
love, and a
humanoid physique don’t
contribute to
survivability and reproduction for
my species. But

there are so many of us
in the world; this was
just how we were created
by our modern gods.
Maybe it’s good that

God gave us and them
the capacity for
compassion because
Nature –
society
humans –
can be
cruel.


Another prompt response for my poetry class. The prompt was to simply write a poem in which an animal figures prominently, not to be used symbolically. I tried to go with a different rout with this rather than just pick an animal and go from there; in essence, I was trying to base this on my fursona (currently in development) and the whole furry subculture.

Leave a Reply

